Rock News Randoms 7-22-21

Rock News Randoms 7-22-21

METALLICA has shared another previously unreleased track – it’s a live take on “Wherever I May Roam”, recorded aDay On The Green in Oakland, CA on October 12, 1991. You’ll find it on the remastered deluxe box set of “The Black Album”, which will be out September 10. 

Anti-vaxxer ERIC CLAPTON says he won’t play at venues that require proof of vaccination.

GREEN DAY played their first gig since early 2020 in Tulsa on Tuesday, July 20.  (WARNING:  The videos contain profanity.) 

Remember when NIGHT RANGER presented PRINCE with Album of the Year at the 1985 “American Music Awards”?  Probably not.  But THEY do.  Because it was kind of a weird night. Jack Blades and Kelly Keagy from Night Ranger were chosen to present Album of the Year, and everyone kind of knew it was going to be “Purple Rain”, including Prince’s people.  So they sent Jack and Kelly some written instructions. They said, quote, “We want to inform you that in no way should Jack Blades or Kelly Keagy speak to Prince or touch Prince or in any way acknowledge him whatsoever.” Well, Jack says that immediately made him want to BREAK those rules.  So when they found themselves seated behind Prince during the ceremony, they kept tapping him on the shoulder and talking to him . . . and, quote, “just pissin’ the [crap] out of him!” They also congratulated Prince and his crew when they came up to accept the award, even though they weren’t supposed to.  But Jack says they ran into Prince at an award show 20 years later, and he was cool.  (You can see video from the “AMAs” here.) 

TONY KAYE, former keyboardist for YESwill release his debut solo album“End Of Innocence”, on September 10 to commemorate the 20th anniversary of 9/11. 

Check out the BLACK CROWES, performing “Hard to Handle”, recorded in Nashville on July 20.

REO SPEEDWAGON’s KEVIN CRONIN is hoping to release his autobiography in 2022. He also talked about tour that includes multiple acts that’s in the planning stages for next year too.

SEBASTIAN BACH will tour this fall to celebrate the 30th anniversary of SKID ROW‘s Slave to the Grind album.

Epiphone, the leading accessible guitar brand For Every Stage, has announced the new Epiphone Slash Collection will officially debut worldwide July 20, 2021 on Crossing three decades of collaborative partnership between Gibson and Epiphone luthiers and the iconic guitarist Slash, the all-new Epiphone Slash Collection features multiple acoustic and electric guitars and follows his history-making Gibson Slash Collection released last year. In a first for the brand, every guitar in the new Epiphone Slash Collection, as well as the Gibson Slash Collection is an evergreen artist collection with fourteen guitars in production.

You can now buy an official GNR “Appetite for Destruction” bong. 

The FOO FIGHTERS have rescheduled their show at the L.A. Forum.

The ROLLING STONES have rescheduled their “No Filter” tour dates, including the Charlotte date, which is set for September 30, 2021.

Columbia Records and Legacy Recordings, the catalog division of Sony Music Entertainment, will release Bob Dylan – Springtime In New York: The Bootleg Series Vol. 16 (1980-1985) on Friday, September 17. The latest chapter in Columbia/Legacy’s highly acclaimed Bob Dylan Bootleg Series revisits an often-forgotten, rich vein in Dylan’s vast and complex catalog, shining fresh light on the provocative new musical directions Dylan was taking as a songwriter and a recording artist from 1980 through 1985.  In the early 1980s, while the music industry was grappling with the arrival of new trends and technology, from MTV to compact discs to digital recording, Bob Dylan was writing and recording new songs for a new decade, creating an essential new chapter in his studio catalog.  Bob Dylan – Springtime In New York (1980-1985) celebrates the rich creative period surrounding Dylan’s albums Shot Of LoveInfidels, and Empire Burlesque with previously unreleased outtakes, alternate takes, rehearsal recordings, live performances and more. The deluxe 5CD edition of the album presents 57 rare Bob Dylan recordings, 54 of them previously unreleased in any format, from 1980-1985.  The previously released cuts include two Shot Of Love outtakes: “Let It Be Me” (first released as B-side to “Heart of Mine” International 7″ single) and “Don’t Ever Take Yourself Away” (first released on Hawaii Five-O: Original Songs from the Television Series). A third previously released recording, “Death Is Not The End” (an Infidels outtake featuring Full Force) first appeared in an edited version on Down In The Groove and may now be heard for the first time in full on Bob Dylan – Springtime In New York (1980-1985)Bob Dylan – Springtime In New York: The Bootleg Series Vol. 16 (1980-1985) is available in a deluxe 5CD boxset (with book, memorabilia, photos and more) as well as 2CD and 2LP 12 vinyl highlight packages.  Available for pre-order: HERE