Rock News Randoms 3-21-23

Rock News Randoms 3-21-23

Nikki Sixx thinks alcohol should be illegal???

Def Leppard drummer Rick Allen is “recovering in a safe space” after being attacked outside a Florida hotel last week. 

Check out Geoff Tate doing Queensryche‘s “Silent Lucidity” at a recent show in Poland.

Grand Funk Railroad are doing a 50th anniversary tour of their “We’re an American Band” album. 

Poison’s Bret Michaels is wrapping up work on his new book. Bet On Yourself: Don’t Crash & Burn… Crash & Learn”, an inspirational, is due out in the fall.

A musician did a video of himself playing one famous guitar riff from every year . . . starting in 1965, and ending in 2022. He kicks it off with the Rolling Stones’ “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction”   It’s over 13 minutes long, but the clip does identify each song as he plays it.

Roger Waters would like you to know that he’s NOT anti-Semitic, just because he disagrees with the Israeli government. 

Warrant is writing songs for a new album.

Tommy Shaw says there won’t be a Damn Yankees reunion.

Wolfgang Van Halen thinks Sammy Hagar-era Van Halen deserves more respect. 

Wanna see Bono and The Edge cover ABBA‘s “SOS” with an orchestra?

Tesla is currently in residency in Vegas, and now they’ve added fall dates as well.

Talking Heads joined forces with director Jonathan Demme for the groundbreaking concert film Stop Making Sense. To celebrate the 40th anniversary of the concerts filmed for Stop Making Sense, a newly restored 4K version of the film will return to theaters for a global theatrical run with A24. Rhino will also release a deluxe version of the soundtrack that will now include the complete Stop Making Sense concert for the first time. STOP MAKING SENSE (DELUXE EDITION) will be available on August 18 as a limited edition, 2-LP set ($39.98) and digitally along with a Dolby Atmos mix of the complete concert, mixed by Jerry Harrison and E.T. Thorngren, who also mixed the original release. Pre-order now. Both versions will feature every song performed in the film, including two that have never been released – “Cities” and “Big Business / I Zimbra.” The limited edition vinyl version features a 28-page booklet with previously unpublished photos along with new liner notes from all four band members –Tina Weymouth, David Byrne, Chris Frantz, and Jerry Harrison